Home > UN


Cuba, Iran, Venezuela Strongly Reject Unilateral Coercive Measures.

Vienna, June 27, 2019. Cuba, Iran and Venezuela has condemned on Thursday the illegal unilateral coercive measures, for which reason they should be dismissed as an option by the international community.

The decision is included in the joint statement issued by the Heads of Permanent Missions of these three nations in Vienna, at the conclusion of the 'International Seminar on Unilateral Coercive Measures (UCM) and its Impacts', hosted by these diplomatic missions.

UN High Representative Highlights Damage to Cuba by US Measures.

United Nations, June 27, 2019. President of the UN General Assembly, Maria Fernanda Espinosa, said Thursday that the increase in unilateral measures and U.S. sanctions against Cuba are causing greater damage to the people of the island.

In response to a question from Prensa Latina, the Head of the largest United Nations agency referred to how Washington's activation of the Helms-Burton Act negatively impacts the Cuban economy and access to goods and services.

Cuban Health Minister Ratifies Willingness to Cooperate with Mexico

Mexico, June 27, 2019. Cuban Public Health Minister Jose Angel Portal has confirmed on Thursday the island's willingness to share knowledge and cooperate on several medical fields with Mexico under the principle of solidarity among people.

Portal, who leads an official Cuban delegation, spoke at a meeting with representatives of the Presidency of the Republic, the Secretariat of Health, the National Commission for the Social Protection and the State's Employees' Security and Social Services Institute.

For the twentieth consecutive time, the UN Committee on Decolonization approves by consensus a resolution on Puerto Rico's self-determination.

New York, 24 June 2019. Today, the UN Committee on Decolonization adopted, by consensus, a decision regarding Puerto Rico. The text submitted by Cuba was co-sponsored by Antigua and Barbuda, the Plurinational State of Bolivia, the Republic of Nicaragua, the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela, the Syrian Arab Republic and the Russian Federation.

This is the twentieth consecutive time that the Committee on Decolonization has adopted a resolution on Puerto Rico by consensus.