Joint Declaration of the European and Latin American Left-Wing Parliamentary Groups demands the end of the blockade against Cuba.

Members of the Parliaments that represent the left-wing parties and forces in Latin America and Europe (European United Left-Nordic Green Left / Progressive left of PARLASUR / Parliamentarians of the Left of PARLATINO, PARLACEN and PARLANDINO); gathered in the margins of the 11th Euro-Latin American Parliamentary Assembly held in Vienna, from 17 to 20 September, 2018, issued the Declaration of the Left in Vienna, which demands the end of the US blockade against Cuba, the return of the illegally occupied territory by the Guantanamo naval base and welcomes the extensive and democratic process of Popular Consultation of the Constitutional Reform that is taking place currently in Cuba.

The Declaration is the result of an extensive debate involving members of parliaments from Argentina, Cuba, Uruguay, Nicaragua, Spain, Portugal, and Ecuador. It also includes the regional and international issues of greatest concern to the left of both regional blocs. The text condemns the imperialist offensive in Latin America and the judicial, political and media persecution against progressive leaders of the region like Ignacio Lula Da Silva, Rafael Correa and Cristina Kirschner. The declaration rejects the attacks against the political and economic sovereignty of Venezuela; it expresses solidarity with the people and Government of Nicaragua that faces the current threats. It condemns the growth of fascist, racist, xenophobic and extreme right movements in Europe. At the time, it also expresses concern about migration problems, neoliberal policies and the effects of climate change.

Cuba is represented in the EuroLat Assembly by the Member of the Parliament Luis Morlote Rivas, who is also Member of PARLATINO; Vice-president of the Committee on Education, Culture, Science, Technology, and Environment of the National Assembly of People´s Power; President of the Parliamentary Group of Friendship with the EU Member States; and First Vice President of the National Union of Writers and Artists of Cuba (UNEAC by its Spanish initials).

(EmbaCuba Austria / Cubaminrex